Outtakes from Russia

Today marks four weeks in Russia. I remarked to Corinne that it’s crazy how fast you get used to something. My brain has just accepted that its really difficult to communicate with most people. Pantomime FTW!

Here are some of the more funny observations I’ve made here:

Driving
-Everyone is a maniac. There really isn’t a way to not be a crazy driver. Cars exist where cars fit. Rules are for suckers.
-No one wears seat belts in the back seat. Most people only wear them in the front seat because their cars beep at them ceaselessly if they don’t.

Bathrooms
-Most toilets in Russia are low flow. I like this.
-BYOTP is a great line of defense against uncertainty.
-Few Russians keep trash cans in their bathrooms. No idea what they do with used q-tips or hair that gathers in the comb.

Dairy
-Milk comes in bags.

20130524-110245.jpg
-The standard milk fat is 2.7%.
-I have serious concerns about how to run my life without ready access to cmeltana (Russian sour cream).

Misc
-Every staircase seems a little off. There always seems to be one step at the top or bottom that’s a half step.

20130524-110345.jpg
-Americans use “thank you” as a parting comment way more than Russians. I choose to believe most Russians find this quirky and fun rather than annoying and usual.
-I don’t think I’ve seen a single bumper sticker while I’ve been here. It’s just not a thing.

Flying to Istanbul Monday to begin the solo leg of this journey. Eek! I’m scared/excited!

4 thoughts on “Outtakes from Russia

  1. Milk in bags??

    You might not actually need to go to without your Russian sour cream. I have a Ukranian friend in Seattle who goes to a Russian grocery store (in… Bellevue, or somewhere vaguely over there) and gets all kinds of things, and I think one of those things was a particular kind of sour cream. Not sure, but there’s hope.

    • Yes. I’ve heard rumor of this grocery store, definitely worth it for special trips. And don’t worry, I’ve seamlessly transitioned to Turkish food. 🙂

  2. You’ll be pantomiming unnecessarily for a week come London/home. In January, by the time I got used to bitte and danke it was time for French! Seriously messes with your head.

    • The first week I was in Russia I kept trying to talk to people in French. I thanked everyone at the airport in Istanbul in Russian. The language center of my brain is working OT!

Leave a Reply

