London: Somerset House

One of my favorite happy accidents is running into something I didn’t otherwise think I had time to see. Somerset House was just that. I had a bee in my bonnet about walking along the river from the Tate Modern to Westminster Abbey. Somerset House is in between them and I popped in to check out their Erwin Blumenfeld exhibit.

20130728-232303.jpg
The House (read: estate) itself is just beautiful. I mean, check out those floors. Major drool.

20130728-232055.jpg
Blumenfeld did mostly commercial work including extensive work for Harper’s Bazaar and American Vogue. The exhibit included many Vogue covers from throughout the 1950s with other takes from the shoot.

20130728-232148.jpg
It was a quick spin as the museum was about to close but I would definitely return to check this museum out again.

2 thoughts on “London: Somerset House

Leave a Reply

