Congratulations M + M!

Last weekend I had the incredible privilege of attending the wedding of my friends, M and M.

20130824-180526.jpg
As I shared during an impromptu wedding toast, I was an excited early party to the love affair of these two newlyweds. Shortly after they met (and after a few dates), Dude M spent three weeks in New York City selling Christmas trees. I would have drinks with Lady M or see her around the neighborhood and enthusiastically ask for updates. She was coy and shy but I knew this was a special connection.

They complement each other in such wonderful ways. Lady M brings focus to Dude M’s idea generation while Dude M supports Lady M in every goal she puts her mind to. They are partners in the truest sense of the word and it brings me such joy to be their friend.

20130824-180431.jpg
Their vows and wedding ceremony often touched on the importance of community. Dude M and I actually grew up a few blocks apart (but only met as adults). Filled up with love for them, I reflected on my own community throughout the reception. My large extended family with their diversity of talents and encompassing support. My high school, just around the corner, that instilled a hard work ethic, a sense of humility, and a desire to excel. My friends that provide everything imaginable and who I would willingly feed, house, clothe and stand by at the drop of a hat. My childhood neighborhood with its mature trees, friendly neighbors, shady porches and hot coffee.

20130824-180657.jpg
M and M, I love you guys. Your relationship is strong and you’ve taken a monumental step forward together. I’m filled to the brim with happiness. Many happy years together!

20130824-180850.jpg

Leave a Reply

