In the Kitchen: Butternut Squash and Chickpea Salad

Recipe: Butternut Squash and Chickpea Salad from Smitten Kitchen

Soundtrack: Motown: The Complete No. 1’s

20131129-073522.jpgI was supposed to make brussel sprouts for Thanksgiving. I was going to roast them in lemon infused olive oil and grate a crap ton of parmesan cheese on top. They were going to be crispy on one side, tender and earthly inside. I was going to horde them and eat them in heaping servings bite after delicious bite.

Unfortunately for me and my poor brussel sprout-loving stomach, I went to Trader Joe’s at 3pm on Wednesday. I know better. I should have planned. I should have been there Monday. Alas. At least the stocker was nice and let me down fast and easy, “we were out by 9:30 this morning.” Ouch. I barely stood a chance.

So what is a gal to do? I stood in the produce section and quickly ran through my options. Green beans are boring or at least require unholy amounts of butter and cream to make interesting. The rosemary roasted sweet potatoes suggested by Emilia were too close to the sweet potato pie Kat was planning to make. Panicked I googled “smitten kitchen butternut squash”. I wasn’t really sure what I was looking for but Deb consistently publishes beautiful recipes that taste amazing. This salad was the first hit. It only required me to buy three additional ingredients. Sold.

The internet saved Thanksgiving. Let’s eat*!

*and read some Zinn to keep some perspective on the historical roots of the holiday

Leave a Reply

