In the Kitchen: Black Eyed Peas and Collards

20140101-221428.jpg

For a prosperous new year

Happy New Year! I picked up the black eyed peas and collards tradition* last year. At the dawn of 2013 I would pretty much have danced naked in the street to ensure that luck was on my side. And you know what? It ended up being a kickass year. When I found this slow cooker version and realized I could have all the luck with 1/4 of the effort I jumped right on board.

I modified the recipe slightly by omitting the ham and it still turned out great. Everything got prepped before we went out and then I just turned the machine on after the fireworks. I woke up to perfectly tender beans and a brand new year!

*Helen, my favorite Southern, tells me that black eyed peas are for good luck and the collards are eaten for wealth and prosperity. I don’t hate that.

Leave a Reply

