Zee Red Carpet

True confession: I only watch the red carpet. My star crossed awards show love is the Golden Globes because everyone is fed and drunk and hilarious. The Oscars are long and a bit boring. But! The dresses.

Favorites (Ladies)

Kate Hudson 

Kate Hudson in Versace. Photo by Steve Granitz/WireImage

I like to think that Kate wore this as a giant “eat your heart out” to Matthew Bellamy. The tailoring is impeccable. Her hair totally nails it.

Amy Adams

Amy Adams in Gucci. Photo by ROBYN BECK/AFP/Getty Images.

I’m not typically a peplum fan and this dress wouldn’t work if it wasn’t so perfectly fitted. The coral earrings from Tiffany beautifully tie together her hair and give an oh-so-subtle nautical nod to the navy. Love it.

Lupita Nyong'o

Lupita Nyong’o in Prada. Photo by Jason Merritt/Getty Images.

Lupita has been a red carpet darling the entire awards season. She brought her A game every single time. I’m thrilled she won last night. The lines of this dress are incredible. The styling left me a little underwhelmed. I’d swap the headband for a necklace but to each their own, I guess. Lupita also underscores how interesting life can be when you don’t tether yourself to one designer. JLaw, take note.

Favorites (Gentlemen)

Kevin Spacey

Kevin Spacey in Burberry. Photo by Steve Granitz/WireImage

Frank Underwood, you did me so right. I love your contrasting lapel so much that I turned off the ceremony and watched House of Cards. Bless you.

Benedict Cumberbatch

Benedict Cumberbatch. Photo by Steve Granitz/WireImage

It’s not just that I love you and love Sherlock. It’s that you know how to show up and own the damn suit. Let’s make out now, kthanksbye.

Thumbs Down 

Julia Roberts

Julia Roberts in Givenchy. Photo by Jason Merritt/Getty Images.

Kat argued that I should give Julia improvement credit after her Global Crime Against My Eyes. Each dress must stand alone to be judged. At least the earrings are nice.

Penélope Cruz

Penelope Cruz in Valli. Photo by Jason Merritt/Getty Images.

She’s obviously stunningly beautiful and could wear a potato sack but she struggled with the shawl thing the entire carpet and it took away from the lines of the dress. Let’s talk a moment to pause and reflect on the fact that is the best the photo service could do. Ruminate on that.

Other Thoughts

I thought Ellen’s opening monologue was bland, safe, and not terribly funny. Her selfie bit, however, was the most amazing thing the internet has ever produced. JLaw looked lovely but is clearly bored of this awards shows and needs to get out of her Dior contract before my brain shuts down from boredom. Keri Washington wins Amazing Points for basically stopping off at the Oscars en route to giving birth. Angie looks scary and I dislike her glitter tear boobs immensely. All the looks are on the Cut. And check out Vanity Fair’s Instagram feed, you’ll thank me.

What did you guys think? Your favorites? Am I off my rocker?

3 thoughts on “Zee Red Carpet

  1. Your favorites are my favorites too, but I want to add that I loved Naomi Watts’ look as well as Matthew M’s wife’s dress (Camilla, right?) with the one-shoulder cape in the light pink. Super pretty.

    Whoopi Goldberg was a mess though.

Leave a Reply

