Breakfast Makeover

20140120-175609.jpg

Elvis waffles

Several weeks ago I got fed up with my breakfast. I was eating instant oatmeal every morning. It was bland with a tacky texture and left my hungry by 9:15. Not cool, oatmeal, not cool. Since then I’ve been experimenting with different approaches. My criteria: healthy, preferably warm, and ready in less than 10 minutes. My friend, C, suggested whole grain waffles which I’ve included in the rotation about 2x/week. Eggs have been the runaway victor here. There protein keeps me going through 10:30 (or beyond) and I like that I can leave them alone for a few minutes to pack my lunch or pour some coffee or respond to an early morning text.

20140120-175623.jpg

Greek yogurt with blueberries and banana

If you have trouble getting out of bed, may I humbly suggest my morning dance jams playlist? It’s got a little bit of everything on there (pop, funk, bluegrass, soul, assorted hipster). No need to play it in order. Just pick a place to start based on what you’re feeling and rock on out in your underwear. You’ll be ready to take the day in no time.

20140306-133136.jpg

Breakfast tacos, for ambitious mornings.

10 Breakfast Survival Skills | Egg Personality Test | Breakfast and Brunch Ideas

One thought on “Breakfast Makeover

Leave a Reply

