2014 Goals: April

Books: I finished Jeffery Eugenides’ The Marriage Plot and Shades of Milk and Honey by Mary Robinette Kowal. In conjunction with a professional development course I enrolled in, I’ve been reading the PMBOK Guide. Stimulating stuff. I’m sure you’re all looking forward to the book review. (Don’t hold your breath.) Annual total thus far: 9/15

For May: See the light, pass this course, and back to fiction reading!

Exercise: The outdoors are fun again! After months of rain and gross and more rain, I was looking for  change of pace. On the suggestion of my pal Kinzie, I’ve been doing videos with Blogilates. Full disclosure: Cassey is uber peppy. But! I can work out in my living room with the patio door open. I don’t feel like a need to mad rush home so I can get to the pool before lap swim closes. Kat can make fun of me when I do the weird dog peeing move as a hip opener. There’s really something for everyone here.

For May: Go outside!

20140420-222014.jpg

Selfie with Sharon Jones. NBD!!!!

Shows: Oh man, I’ve been looking forward to April for months! I kicked it off with back-to-back shows: Sharon Jones & the Dap-Kings at the Showbox followed the next night by Neural Milk Hotel at the Neptune. The Sharon Jones show was ah-may-zing. Amazing. She often invites people on stage and I joked to Rachel and Kat that I should get a selfie with Sharon. Well, when she invited ladies to join her on stage I threw all the elbows necessary to get me to the front. Those stage lights are hot! At the end of the song, she was introducing all her impromptu backup dancers and I knew I had my opportunity. When she came to me, I grabbed my phone and asked her to take a selfie. The crowd absolutely lost it. Easily the most awesome moment of my concert going life. It was such an epic story that my friend Nick turned it into a video project.

Neutral Milk Hotel is a band I’ve loved for a long, long time. In the Aeroplane Over the Sea was on constant rotation in high school and college. As April Ludgate says, it’s the only album you ever need. The show was amazing. The musicality of the band is beyond words, MB described it as a “glorious cacophony” which is probably the most apt description. It’s a rite of passage for a particular teenage experience to shout-sing King of Carrot Flowers parts 1-3 with hundreds of other people.

The month continued with bluegrass boys Yonder Mountain String Band at the Showbox and new favorite St. Paul & the Broken Bones at the Tractor.

For May: I’m bringing in the class with my first trip to the symphony this year.

Travel: Soleil came to meeeeee! I love sharing my city with new folks!

For May: Plot, plan, repeat.

Leave a Reply

