2014 Goals: July

20140728-160720-58040575.jpg

Preaching the truth at the Capitol Hill Block Party

What a month was July!

Books: I was feeling a little sheepish about my number at the end of June. Then BAM. Vacation. Cleared that right up. While in Mexico I finished Americanah by Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie, The Goldfinch by Donna Tartt, and The Kite Runner by Khaled Hosseini. All three were great and I inhaled them like a marathoner chugs water. I have also been fully converted to the Kindle while traveling. Big thanks to loyal reader Donna, the super fab mom of my eternally hilarious co-worker Scott, who gifted me her retired Kindle touch as I could join the ranks of electronic device readers.

I went back to work and got right back into my bus commute reading schedule. Finished Maria Semple’s Where’d You Go, Bernadette? in a week. What a delicious skewering of Seattle! Annual total thus far: 15/15

20140728-160719-58039833.jpg

Stencil in Mexico City

20140728-160719-58039377.jpg

Summer grocery store flowers

Exercise: Yoga in the studio! Yoga in the out of doors! My co-workers (apparently my office features prominently in this update) and I challenged each other to a All Stairs August, complete with an in office sticker chart because public shaming is real. Want to join in?

20140728-160720-58040911.jpg

Saturday morning yoga at the Sculpture Park

Shows: Killing it! Enjoyed a showcase at the Crocodile featuring Matt Bishop from Hey Marseilles, Trails and Ways, and PHOX at the beginning of the month. And in true form, I resisted the Capitol Hill Block Party for weeks before breaking down and buying a ticket to Saturday two days beforehand. Oh, what a block party it was! Saw an excellent set by The Dip (who are opening for Dirty Dozen Brass Band at Neumos next week), the end of Katie Kate, and kickass performances by Beat Connection, Star Slinger, and Chromeo. Music festival real talk: rompers are still my least favorite item of clothing.

20140728-160718-58038954.jpg

Hanging with Siiri at the Block Party

Travel: MEXICO. And done.

20140728-160721-58041463.jpg

Theater night with my parents

 

One thought on “2014 Goals: July

  1. Pingback: 2014 Goals: End of the Year Retrospective | Liz Takes the World

Leave a Reply

