Summer Honey-Do List: An Update

IMG_3252

Summer gardens in the ‘hood

This summer was AMAZING. I wrote in June that I “couldn’t wait to have a classically Northwest summer” and, oh baby, did I ever. Work was busy but full of new trainees and welcome happy hours and introducing new folks to the city. Evening and weekends were wall to wall awesome: weddings of beautiful friends, dinners out, visiting besties, insane produce everywhere, drinks on the patio, 9pm sunsets, everything outside and everything great. I’ve been on a hard campaign against early fall pushers this year. I’ve got one more week before I head off the the UK and I’m going to milk every last, sun drenched morsel out of this perfect summer.

Go sailing at least once a month in July, August, and September Uhhhhhh……mixed. I went sailing in July and September. I spent lots of time on boats in August but drinking a G&T while watching the sun set behind the Olympics isn’t exactly the same as nailing a sharp jibe. So, gentle reader, compromise at a B?

IMG_2823.JPG

July sailing with my dad

Eat fro yo I hilariously threw this one in as a total gimme and then spent the whole summer waiting for the new Menchie’s by my apartment to open. Kat and I finally tasted sweet fro yo success during a gigantic end of summer rainstorm. It wasn’t quite what I had imagined but delicious just the same.

Attend the Fremont Solstice Parade The people watching is always epic.

Perfect our house margarita recipe Mixed bag on this one. We did less workshopping of margarita recipes but had plenty of other delicious booze experiments this summer. I’m going to pat myself on the back for achieving the spirit of this goal.

IMG_2780

Eating beignets with my brother, July 2014

Get out of the city and go on a hike Total failure. Didn’t even attempt to plan this one. Sad face.

Go to an outdoor movie (or two) See above. 😦

Saturday morning outdoor yoga at the Sculpture Park This quickly become one of my favorite ways to welcome the weekend. The Sculpture Park is right on the water, 8 Limbs provides great instructors, and yoga in the outdoors is so awesome. Highly recommend.

IMG_2736

Olympic Sculpture Park, Seattle

Take a beach day While I didn’t indulge in the full weekend beach afternoon I had envisioned when I made this goal, I did spent plenty of time sunning on Siiri’s downtown rooftop deck and running around on the beach. Smooshed together they totally achieve the same effect.

IMG_2867

Embracing summer

Grill as much as possible Patio Friday made sure of this!

Have a blast in Mexico in July! More fun than should be strictly legal.

IMG_2627

Mexico City, July 2014

Tune up my bike and go for a ride Big ol’ fail. Saddest face.

Attend my 10 year high school reunion (’04 sho!)

IMG_2902.JPG

Bonding with my old high school locker

Watch the sunset at the beach A good sunset makes a good day GREAT.

IMG_2948.JPG

Shilshole Marina, Seattle, August 2014

IMG_2989.JPG

Carkeek Park, Seattle

Bottom line: 9.66 out of 13 ain’t bad! I’d be the best hitting player in baseball!

Leave a Reply

