This week

lorelai and rory

Weeknights at home: symbolically and actually

Most often, when writing this blurb, I consider what the defining feature of my week has been or a particular topic I’ve been mulling over privately (typically whilst commuting). This week has had no such story arch. It consisted of hitting work deadlines and hanging out at home with Kat. I had no weeknight plans which is both a weird humblebrag and also a welcome respite. I bullied Kat into watching extra episodes of Gilmore Girls when we should have been doing more productive things. But hey, we cooked dinner from scratch every night and it’s cold.

This morning I got an email from BevMo wishing me a happy half birthday. That’s a highlight, I guess. A targeted advertisement for a liquor was the highlight. So much to be grateful for as we approach Thanksgiving.

READ

The hidden (to Americans) history of Saartjie Baartman. A unified theory of Kim Kardashian. Seattle has the largest density of micro housing units in the country; what that means for our future. The politics of names (the gender breakdown of this is also fascinating <— probably my most common addendum). Solange. In a cape. Killing Everything. Remember last week when Evie wrote about finishing grad school? She’s my goddamn hero. For Mister Jensen. Serial’s shoddy reporting. Alix’s trip to the Hoh Rainforest. Knot tying is my universal contribution to friends who are moving.

Ta-Nehisi Coates on Bill Cosby must be read:

Rape constitutes the loss of your body, which is all you are, to someone else. I have never been raped. But I have, several times as a child, been punched/stomped/kicked/bumrushed while walking home from school, and thus lost my body. The worst part for me was not the experience, but the humiliation of being unable to protect my body, which is all I am, from predators. Even now as I sketch this out for you publicly, I am humiliated all again. And this happened when I was a child. If recounting a physical assault causes me humiliation, how might recounting a sexual assault feel? And what would cause me to willingly stand up and relive that humiliation before a national audience? And why would I fake my way through such a thing? Cosby’s accusers—who have no hope of criminal charges, nor civil damages—are courting the scrutiny of Cosby-lovers and rape-deniers. To what end?

WATCH

A hero to ladies everywhere. Anna Kendrick: most adorable. 36 hours in Seattle, a NYT love letter to my home town (featuring my fave, Damn the Weather).

LISTEN

The Dip – Ready to Go

Mr Little JeanPocketknife (I listened to this while commuting Thursday morning and was feeling it)

Leave a Reply

