This week

IMG_5006

Pike Place Market, Seattle

This week has been a doozy. I received three pieces of difficult news in as many days. The Irish in me expects bad news to come in a trio so while the particulars were overwhelming, the wave wasn’t. Grief insulates and detaches me. I want to work with my door closed, commute with headphones blasting, order everything online so I never have to interact with strangers. This is a great departure from my normal operating procedure. It’s jarring and deeply draining but necessary. I’ll attend two funerals over the next three days and hopefully use the time to lighten my heavy heart. I read an excerpt of Joan Didion’s The Year of Magical Thinking. The internet is having a Very Joan Moment right now and I’m basking in all of the beautifully constructed prose. I’ll build a fortress of prose until I’m ready to emerge again, hopefully Monday.

READ

Misandrist lullabies. I’ll be making this boozy banana bread this weekend. Academic science has a “family problem”. Segregation now in Tuscaloosa, Alabama (incredible long form journalism from ProPublica). Six weeks paid leave opposed by people with 33 weeks of paid leave. All eyes on Greece.

WATCH

Season 2 of The Fall on Netflix. The ultimate Coach Taylor pep talk. The Dip’s Tiny Desk Concert. Can we talk about how on point Sophia Grace’s sneaker game is?

LISTEN

Sharon Jones & the Dap-Kings – Naturally (The Dip [see “watch”] is doing an all covers show featuring this album for Valentine’s Day. Beyond pumped.)

Flight Facilities – Down to Earth

Bitch Magazine’s all “Jolene” playlist (my prayers have been answered!)

 

2 thoughts on “This week

Leave a Reply

