96 Hours in Austin

South Congress, Austin

What a weekend it was! I touched down in Texas Friday afternoon and was greeted by a wave of warm, muggy air that didn’t let up until Sunday. A gaggle of girlfriends from high school and beyond piled into an AirBnB rental and we prepared to marry off our own darling, K. K and C, an Austin native, asked me to officiate their ceremony in the front yard of C’s childhood home. Such an awesome community vibe. I warned them when I agreed that I wouldn’t be able to hold it together. I’m a wedding crier, what can I say? True to form, I made it about seven seconds before my voice started to break. The whole weekend was triumphant celebration of love, friendship, family, and the steadfastness of relationships over time.

Spending time in Austin is always a laid-back adventure in eating and exploring. I stayed an extra day to give myself a chance to see other Austin friends (thanks to the awesome Elissa for making it possible!) and, let’s be honest, eat more. Crammed in more tacos and one of the best banana splits I’ve ever had. Vegan or not, Sweet Ritual makes some of the best ice cream around!

Sub Pop Records, SeaTac

Stubb’s BBQ at Mean Eyed Cat, Austin

Becoming beeeeeautiful butterflies

Success!

…sort of

Welcome

K’s gorgeous tablescape

K+C=<3

Pergola hand built by C’s dad

Natty love

Texas wildflowers

Texas chic

After hours

What’s cooler than being cool?

I said, what’s cooler than being cool?

ICE COLD

[No alcohol was harmed in the making of these photos]

Clive, Austin

“Easter Brunch”, Torchy’s Tacos, Austin

Ginny’s Little Longhorn Saloon, Austin

The insanely packed magic of Chicken Shit Bingo, Austin

Internet buddies IRL

Sweet Ritual Banana Split, Austin

2 thoughts on “96 Hours in Austin

  1. Pingback: 2015 Goals: April | Liz Takes the World

  2. Pingback: On Being 28 | Liz Takes the World

Leave a Reply

