Weekend Brunch: Cinnamon Rolls and a Dream Deferred

Recipe of the week: Chai-Spiced Cinnamon Rolls from Joy the Baker
Worth Listening: A Dream Deferred? MLK, Trayvon and the fight against racism today via We Are Many

Weekends are for sleeping in and catching up. They are the space and the breathing room. They are the extra time to think.

On weekend mornings I like nothing better than to make a pot of coffee and have a good breakfast. I had a sleepover with my favorite little family last night and as a thank you to the hardest working mom and dad in Leo business, I whipped up some overnight cinnamon rolls. Cooking clears my head, it lets me be creative, it’s another way to be close to people I care about, it’s my favorite hobby. The company makes the meal and I was lucky enough to be surrounded by smart, committed people.

20130825-202455.jpg
Later, I was watching this panel. An incredible, amazing panel featuring some of the most inspiring activists around. Much has been said in the last weeks about the 50th anniversary of the March on Washington for Jobs and Freedom. The liberal and leftwing press have written thousands of words about the progress America still has to make towards King’s dream. That is important. Dr. King once spoke about the “fierce urgency of now”. Now is important. Now is people’s lives. This collection of speakers are different. They take the assessment of the work still to be done and push it further through analysis of our society and connect it to action. The urgency of now informed by the lessons of the past.

Leave a comment